My career in technology

Say Yes – A Success Story

Another success story, again about stepping out of our comfort zones: I heard from one of my readers, Stephanie, that she just got a new job. Yay!

Even better is the story of how she got the job. I’ll let her tell the story…

As you know, I follow your blog “Working It Out”. You blogged something about “SharePoint Saturday San Antonio” a few days before the event and I thought “Why don’t I just go? I have a friend who lives in SA… might as well go, I have no other plans, and I get to see my old friend.”

To tell the truth, I didn’t even know about the event until you blogged about it. I couldn’t drive up Friday night, so I knew I would have to wake up around 3:30 am Saturday morning to make it to San Antonio from Houston. Was it really worth it? It’s my weekend AND I don’t get paid for this! I must be insane!

At 3:30 am Saturday morning my alarm went off. Ouch! I was so tired. All this for SharePoint Saturday? Could it be worth it? I already told my friend I would visit after the conference, and I had packed the night before, plus I was already awake now. Might as well do it.

The day went by and I began to get tired. Afternoons seem really late in the fall. I was considering skipping SharePint so I could spend more time with my friend, and I didn’t really know anyone attending. Yup, pretty sure I was going to skip SharePint. That’s when I ran into you (I know I don’t really know you, but I know of you, and that was a start). So, when you asked if I was going to SharePint, I ignored my massive fatigue and said “See you at SharePint!”

And I did. It was a lot of fun! It was at SharePint that I met Veronica Herrera, an internal recruiter for Entrance Software. She was searching for SharePoint consultants for their Houston location. We traded contact info, and before long she set up an interview.  When I interviewed with the company, I was given an offer on the spot! I am so excited about my new opportunity and I have you to thank for it in a long round about sort of way! So your next beer that is not covered by a SharePint sponsor is on me!

– Stephanie

While I am glad my encouragement played a role in helping Stephanie find her new job, I have to give credit where it is really due – Stephanie, when an opportunity to network with people in your field came along, you stepped up and said “Yes” (or at least “Why the hell not?”)!

Too often, we hang back in our comfort zones, we stay in our ruts.  It is important to be open to the possibilities, especially ones we might not have considered, so we can end up at the right place at the right time. You did that, and you were quite justly rewarded for it. Way to go, Stephanie!

To my other readers:  If you are looking for a new job, don’t just sit at home responding to internet job postings. Follow Stephanie’s example and get out and meet new people, because you never know when and where you are going to run into someone who knows where that great job is.  Sometimes opportunity doesn’t knock so much as stand near your front porch and whistle tunelessly, waiting for you to step out and invite it in.  Get out there, grab opportunity and drag it inside!

Jim Adcock is Vice President of Launch Pad Job Club, an organization in Austin, Texas, whose mission is help people who have lost their jobs to get the skills they need to land their next job, and to help them cope with the interim between jobs. Check out other career-related entries.

Leave a Reply

