My career in technology

Speak Up!

At the end of September, I spoke at Launch Pad Job Club about ways to make yourself a better candidate for that new job you want.  One of the major points was to be active, to take advantage of opportunities to volunteer, raise your profile, and interact with people, whether or not you are currently employed.

In the spirit of “eating my own dog food“, I have several speaking engagements coming up.

First English Lutheran Stephen Ministry

Last year I spoke at St. Martin’s Stephen Ministry, presenting “Tools, Techniques and Resources for Supporting and Guiding the Disemployed Back to Employment”.  The presentation went well, and  another Stephen Ministry group, this time at First English Lutheran Church, heard about it through the grapevine and asked me to speak to them too.  I’ll be presenting at their meeting on November 21.

Lesson:  When you do something well, people hear about it.  (Corollary: If you screw up, people will hear about it too.  Don’t screw up!)

Round Rock ISD Partners In Education Foundation Career Fair

My kids go to school in the Round Rock School District, which sends out e-mail updates each week.  A couple of weeks ago, I read this request for speakers for their upcoming Career Fair:

District needs speakers for Career Fair 
The Annual Round Rock ISD Partners In Education Foundation Career Fair will be held Friday, Nov. 18, 2011 at the Round Rock Higher Education Center, 1555 University Blvd, Round Rock from 9 a.m. to 2 p.m. The Career Fair is a wonderful opportunity for ninth grade students across the district to learn more about potential careers, RRISD Academies, and postsecondary educational options in the Central Texas Area. The district is looking for speakers to address students about their chosen profession and answer any questions. 

An opportunity to talk about both SharePoint and career management, at the same time?  Couldn’t pass that up, and the Career Fair couldn’t pass me up either, so I’ll be spending my day on November 18 talking to high school freshmen from all over the school district.

Lesson:  there is always someone looking for volunteers!  Keep your eyes open for opportunity.

SharePoint Saturday Austin

This event isn’t until January, and I haven’t received confirmation, but I have submitted two presentation topics and will likely be speaking there on one or both of these topics:

SharePoint Group Therapy (A SharePoint Governance Workshop)

The calculated HTML column

See you there!  Don’t forget to bring the team!

Final thought – If you know something, speak up!

Network, network, network!

I’ll be at the Bridge ATX networking happy hour tomorrow evening (November 2), and the Central Texas SharePoint User Group next Wednesday (November 9).  I’m not presenting at either of these events, but these are pretty much the last events of the year, and I’d be happy to talk to you personally about your career, SharePoint, (or both!) so don’t miss them!

Jim Adcock is Vice President of Launch Pad Job Club, an organization in Austin, Texas, whose mission is help people who have lost their jobs to get the skills they need to land their next job, and to help them cope with the interim between jobs. Check out other career-related entries.

Comments on: "Speak Up!" (2)

  1. […] Yesterday I mentioned the possibility of speaking at SharePoint Saturday Austin.  Not long after posting that, I got the official word that I was in! […]

  2. […] February 6th I was at the Stephen Ministry group at First English Lutheran Church presenting “Tools, Techniques and Resources for Supporting and Guiding the Disemployed Back to Employment” (re-scheduled from November). […]

Leave a Reply

