My career in technology

Mine is doing great, thanks for asking.  I posted my résumé on my blog two years and a little bit less than one month ago. Since then I have gotten over 1000 hits.   That’s pretty impressive, since I am employed and not actively promoting myself for a job!

Of the other one hundred (exactly) posts and pages on my blog, only five other posts have more hits.  One out of every 32 page views on my blog is a visit to my résumé.

Seriously – how much work would it be for you to send your résumé out and get a thousand people to look at it?  You  would have to send out a lot more than a thousand copies, I’ll tell you that!

With your résumé on a blog you get search visibility – your résumé is findable on the web, where recruiters (both internal and external) are searching, and you get to see what search terms they are using to find you.

I wrote extensively about getting your résumé out on the internet here.

Right now, recruiters are working with a reduced budget, so they aren’t paying for services like Monster, Hot Jobs and Careerbuilder, et al. So much so that Hot Jobs has collapsed and Yahoo sold it to Monster. Instead, recruiters are firing up their browsers and searching for candidates via Google, or are using LinkedIn, both of which are free to both candidates and recruiters. When they do this, if they can’t find you, you are out of the running for that job.

Another advantage of having your résumé on a blog is the feedback you get from stats and search terms used to find your résumé.

And when the blog you have your résumé posted on is related to your career, you have the added bonus of being able to validate your résumé claims with the things you write about, should the reader of your résumé be intrigued enough to want to know more.

My résumé has been seen by over a thousand people without me having send it to anyone.  Is your résumé working as hard for you?

Jim Adcock is Vice President of Launch Pad Job Club, an organization in Austin, Texas, whose mission is help people who have lost their jobs to get the skills they need to land their next job, and to help them cope with the interim between jobs. Check out other career-related entries.

Comments on: "How Is Your Online Resume Doing?" (1)

  1. […] are more likely to if you advertise it.  Become comfortable talking about your accomplishments; have a web presence that talks about your skills, abilities, and successes for you even when you aren’t […]

Leave a comment