My career in technology

Following my work on Hacking the URL, I wanted to simplify the process of posting my blog entries to LinkedIn. But there isn’t a defined LinkedIn Sharing Service on the Sharing page of the WP Dashboard.

http://YOURBLOGNAME.wordpress.com/wp-admin/options-general.php?page=sharing

But it is easy to get one…

I had been hacking a URL together for each article I’ve wanted to post. It was pretty cumbersome, even though the LinkedIn sharing URL is pretty easy:

http://www.linkedin.com/shareArticle?url=http%3A%2F%2Fdlairman.wordpress.com%2F2011%2F13%2Fhe-who-sells-first-loses%2F&mini=true&source=WorkingItOut&title=Social+Media+Rules+-+"He+Who+Sells+First+Loses"

Breaking it down:

http://www.linkedin.com/shareArticle?url=

then your blog post URL, with %3A substituting for : and %2F substituting for /

&mini=true&source=

then your blog’s name (I took out the spaces, but you could substiture + or %20 for the space)

&title=

then your title, with + substituting for space (you can also use %20)

But there is an easier way…

I posted a suggestion to create a LinkedIn button, and got a response – there is a feature on Sharing where you can roll your own Service. And an article on how to roll your own service for LinkedIn! Simple!

As you can see, I have implemented it myself. Now with a click anyone can share my posts on LinkedIn.

And now you can too. You have to promote what you write!

I'm an overachiever this week.

For this week, anyway. We'll see what happens going forward.

Comments on: "Quick Fix: Add a LinkedIn Sharing Button to Your WordPress Blog" (5)

  1. […] But it is easy to get one… I had been hacking a URL together for each article I’ve wanted to post. It was pretty cumbersome, … Read More […]

  2. My blog looks cool with this widget 😉

  3. […] Find the groups that apply to you professionally or that have relevance to your career history. Then when you write a post that is relevant to the group, you can post a link in the group discussions to you blog post. (And you can do it very easily once you configure the WordPress sharing features!) […]

Leave a Reply

