My career in technology

Day four of my daily series revealing the “secrets” to a successful job hunt.

Yesterday I told you how to make time for a more effective job hunt. Today I tell you what you absolutely MUST do with some of that extra time and attention…

Secret #4: Follow Up!

ALWAYS ALWAYS ALWAYS follow up every time you apply.

Every time you send out a resume, call the recipient. Even if you are only claiming to make sure they got your application, you are demonstrating interest and attention to detail. Call them. Every time. Without fail. CALL THEM!

I’ve got a great story about how well this works in practice. It is why I refer to myself as “the spam guy”. One day, when I am tired of telling the story personally, I’ll write it up as a blog post. But I’m having too much fun telling it, so until then, seek me out and I’ll be happy to tell you the story. Not in Austin? Feel free to call me. (My phone number is on the resume on this blog site.)

Suffice it to say that the job that set me off on my current career specialization came from following up – and if I had not followed up, they wouldn’t have hired me…

Next is “Deja Vu All Over Again”. Join me, won’t you?

Or, go back to the beginning of the series.

Jim Adcock is Vice President of Launch Pad Job Club, an organization in Austin, Texas, whose mission is help people who have lost their jobs to get the skills they need to land their next job, and to help them cope with the interim between jobs. Check out previous career-related entries.

Comments on: "Secrets of the Successful Jobseeker – Part 4" (1)

  1. […] The busiest day of the year was October 11th with 469 views. The most popular post that day was Secrets of the Successful Jobseeker – Part 4. […]

Leave a Reply

