My career in technology

One Year Later

I made my first post to this blog a year ago today.

While I haven’t met all of the objectives I started out with (I haven’t posted as frequently as I had intended to, nor has the proportion of SharePoint to Career posts been what I had envisioned, though I have been doing better recently), I think overall it has been successful.   I’ve helped a lot of people (based on feedback and blog hits), and I think the blog has helped me as well. 

At the very least, it has allowed (and required) me to crystallize my thinking in a number of areas, to be more specific and less nebulous.  Its been a place to place reminders to myself of my goals, objectives and methods.  And obviously it has given me a presence on the web that I didn’t have before.

I promise to continue this blog with the objectives I have always had in mind for it:

  1. Blog entries of substance, with information that I truly believe will be helpful to others, not self-aggrandizing blather.
  2. Product flogging kept to a minimum, with any connections to the flogged products (or services) clearly spelled out.
  3. Entries focused on my career in technology – that is, post subjects limited to general career topics and technology subjects (all, of course, within the bounds of the first objective).
  4. Written with my not-yet-trademarked (but definitely copyrighted) sense of  humor encouraged to run naked freely through.

And thank you for reading!  I count every page hit every day, and I appreciate every one of them (over 5000!)!  Without you I would be writing only for myself. 🙂

(Now if I could only get more of you visitors to comment – good, bad or indifferent, I don’t care)

Updated with lots of geeky numbers after the break!

Posts: 41

Total Word Count: 22,530

Average per Post: 550 words

Longest Post: 1759 words (yikes!)

Shortest Post: 16 words

Median Length: 467 words

Comments: 32

Pings: 1

Also, I’m pleased to say that 73% of my posts and pages recieved at least one hit in the past 30 days.   I take this to mean that content I am creating has lasting value, which pleases me greatly.

Jim Adcock is Vice President of Launch Pad Job Club, an organization in Austin, Texas, whose mission is help people who have lost their jobs to get the skills they need to land their next job, and to help them cope with the interim between jobs. Check out other career-related entries.

Comments on: "One Year Later" (4)

  1. postadaychallenge2011 said:

    You really explain yourself very clearly. I am glad to know you. 🙂

  2. […] Last year I posted a look back at my first year. This year I have opened a whole new blog covering meta topics – blogging, blog promotion, blog statistics, and so on – in part to keep these topics off this blog, reserving it for posts relevant to career and SharePoint topics. […]

  3. […] Last year I posted a look back at my first year on Working It Out. This year I am posting it here to keep meta topics off Working It Out, reserving it for posts relevant to career and SharePoint topics. […]

Leave a Reply

