My career in technology

2009: Doing the Numbers

Social Networks Joined: 2 (Facebook and Twitter)
Twitter Posts: 242
Blogs Created: 2 (here and Cooking Without A Net) (plus a placeholder blog)
Blog Posts: 29 (here) + 6 (Cooking without a Net) (plus three personal blog entries on Facebook)
Blog Hits: 3959 & 113
SharePoint User Group meetings attended: 13 (plus three organizational committee meetings)
Other professional group meetings attended: 8  (Agile Austin, Austin SPIN)
Full-day Conferences: 3 (SharePoint Saturday, ProductCamp, TweetCamp)
Presentation given: 2
LPJC Meetings attended: 40, plus one Board meeting and one Volunteer Service Project

So What does this all add up to?

2009 was the year I joined the Social Media wave and started blogging, twittering and facebooking.  I started to actually use LinkedIn.  I started to drive my career once again.  But there is still a lot of work to do.

I had been hoping to do a blog entry two or three times a week, and an additional cooking blog entry once a week.  Didn’t quite manage that :-), but I’m going to keep at it until it becomes habitual.

I still have work to do to turn my career around into something that I’m actually happy with.

I’ve barely scratched the surface in making my social networks something truly interactive.

So welcome 2010: the challenges of new versions of the software I work with (SharePoint, Office, MS SQL), more opportunities to give presentations (this year I’ll start to give SharePoint presentations!), hard work developing my career and applying the ideas of continuous improvement to myself, and blogging just a little more often!

Jim Adcock is Vice President of Launch Pad Job Club, an organization in Austin, Texas, whose mission is help people who have lost their jobs to get the skills they need to land their next job, and to help them cope with the interim between jobs. Check out other career-related entries.

Leave a Reply

