My career in technology

Welcome to Fight Club. The first rule of Fight Club is: you do not talk about Fight Club. The second rule of Fight Club is: you DO NOT talk about Fight Club!– Tyler Durden, Fight Club (1999)

Conversely, the first rule of Job Club is: you talk about Job Club!  The second rule… ah, you get the picture.

OK, so it’s not really a rule.  But, as a member and volunteer at LaunchPad Job Club, I do try to tell people about how Kathy Lansford and the membership have created a supportive, effective tool to help people survive a layoff and get back to work.  Right now, there a lot of people hurting and in need of help, so I feel strongly about talking about Job Club, letting people know the resource is there.

Similarly, the first rule about your job search is “Talk About Your Job Search”.  It is hard for people to help you unless you learn to ask for help.  Talking about not having a job means you can ask people to help.  And one way for them to help you is to keep you accountable.

At TweetCamp San Antonio last week, I met an interesting man names Bo Lora.  He gave a presentation (see Beginners 4) about his experiences during his recent job hunt – Chronicles of a Job Hunter.  He had an interesting approach to his job hunt, which he chronicled on his blog.  In short, he blogged daily about his job hunting activities, and let everyone in his network of friends and acquaintances know what he was doing so they could see his daily activities, track his progress, provide feedback, motivation, advice, and support.

And it provided him with accountability.  With the knowledge that everyone he knew was looking over his shoulder, he had to account for his activities, keeping him focused and on-task.  He asked his friends to hold him accountable, and they became participants in his job search.

And apparently it was very effective.  In 30 days, he had gotten a job with some help from his friends.

Bo Lora

Check out his blog.  I think he’s worth emulating.

Jim Adcock is Vice President of Launch Pad Job Club, an organization in Austin, Texas, whose mission is help people who have lost their jobs to get the skills they need to land their next job, and to help them cope with the interim between jobs. Check out other career-related entries.

Comments on: "The First Rule Of Job Club – Accountability In Your Job Search" (3)

  1. I have been attending the LPJC for under two months. I can honestly say my job searching has been far, far more productive since I joined than the two-and-a-half months prior to me joining. No, I’m still not employed, but I have contacts I didn’t have before, I’m learning about opportunities I didn’t know existed, and I don’t feel so isolated.

    Part of me is reluctant to get a job because I’ll have to leave the LPJC behind. 😉

  2. […] Texas, we have an organization called LaunchPad Job Club.  I’ve gone on at length about it a few times.  At the most recent meeting of the Board of Directors, the subject of Brainshare was […]

  3. […] Job Club, which I have spoken of frequently on my blog, is an organization whose mission is to serve people who have lost their jobs by […]

Leave a Reply

